Troicki goes back-to-back in Sydney

Saturday January 16, 2016

Viktor Troicki (SRB) made it 12 wins and two titles in a row at the Sydney International tonight in a thrilling three set win over Grigor Dimitrov (BUL).

The first set went all the way of the Bulgarian, with Dimitrov breaking in the first and penultimate games to take a 6-2 lead.

Troicki breezed through the second 6-1 to set up a nail-biting decider. The defending champ didn’t make it easy for himself, dropping his first chance to clinch the match when serving for it at 5-4, then missing his first match-point in the tiebreak.

After saving a match-point himself, a stylish passing backhand on the stretch secured the third seed his second straight title in Ken Rosewall Arena.

In the men’s doubles final, the newly minted pairing of Jamie Murray (GBR) and Bruno Soares (BRA) stormed back from 5-0 down in the second set tiebreak to beat Rohan Bopanna (IND) and Florin Mergea (ROU) for their first title together 6-3 7-6(6).

“One ball decided the match. It was favourite shot of all at the end to win it. So many times that shot brought me a lot of happiness,” said Viktor Troicki (SRB) as he reflected on the sweet passing backhand that brought him Sydney International title number two.

Meanwhile on Friday night, two-time Grand Slam champion Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) added her 16th WTA title to her trophy cabinet with a straight sets 6-0 6-2 win over qualifier Monica Puig (PUR).

After a tight three-set-battle against top seed and world No. 2 Simona Halep (ROU) this morning, Kuznetsova backed up with ease, rolling through the first set in just 24 minutes.

Puig, playing in her first Premier level WTA final, found her feet in the second but her game deserted her again, surrendering the match with a double fault and handing Kuznetsova her first Sydney title.

In the women’s doubles final, Martina Hingis (SUI) and Sania Mirza (IND) fought back from a set and a break down for the second straight match to beat French duo Kristina Mladenovic and Caroline Garcia and secure their seventh straight title together.

News Source: Tennis Australia