Scorchers rebound and douse the Heat

Wednesday January 11, 2017

The Perth Scorchers have rebounded from last week’s defeat to douse the Brisbane Heat by 27 runs at the Gabba in Brisbane this evening.

Hat-trick for Perth Scorchers paceman AJ Tye (left) against the Brisbane Heat tonight.
Photo courtesy of BBL/Cricket Australia

Defending what looked like a modest 157 runs, the Scorchers put the Heat behind the required rate quickly with three wickets in the power-play, eventually bowling the hosts out for 129 in the final over of their innings.

Michael Klinger was named player of the match after he top scored with 81 runs, moving within a couple runs of reaching the 1500 Big Bash League career runs milestone.

Andrew Tye meanwhile claimed four wickets including a hat-trick to complete the match, the second bowler ever to do so in a Big Bash League game.

The Brisbane Heat could be without their skipper Brendon McCullum for their next match with Cricket Australia poised to impose a repeated slow-over rate penalty which includes an automatic one-match suspension for the team captain.

Brisbane Heat officials though have confirmed they will contest should the charge be imposed.

The home side kept the Scorchers to 5-156 off their 20 overs with Klinger the only player to score more than fifty this evening.

Mitchell Johnson also helped the Scorchers, almost a week after they were silenced at the Furnace by Chris Lynn’s super bat.

The left-arm paceman excelled at a venue he once called home, taking two early wickets, and combined well in tandem with youngster Jhye Richardson who snared the desired wicket of McCullum (15) in the fourth over.

Ashton’s Agar and Turner snaffled three catches each. Agar took a classic catch while running back towards the mid-wicket boundary to dismiss Joe Burns (23) in the 11th over.

Alex Ross soldiered on with 39 off 40 balls, slaying Richardson for six over the mid-wicket fence only to be caught by Turner two balls later.

Nathan Reardon and Ben Cutting both made starts though were outplayed by Tim Bresnan with the required rate approaching 10 runs per over.

Tye chimed in with the tail-end wickets of Jack Wildermuth, Mitchell Swepson and Mark Steketee to go with his 11th over wicket of Burns.

Earlier, the Scorchers struggled on a lively wicket and were seemingly unable to take a stranglehold of their innings. With the par score of 180 there for the taking they could only score 5-156 off their 20 overs.

Shaun Marsh fell in the second over top edging to Wildermuth at third man, while an eventful third over from Tymal Mills followed with pinch-hitter Sam Whiteman struck on the helmet.

Whiteman played on and was dismissed for 12 two overs later, replaced by Cameron Bancroft after being accessed by the medical staff as having delayed concussion.

Klinger raced into the 20’s and offered Burns a catching opportunity from a top edged straight drive off Ben Cutting in the ninth over.

Fortunately for the Scorchers opener, Burns took the catch but collided with Heat skipper McCullum in the process and was pushed over the rope.

Klinger went on and raised his bat for his 10th Big Bash League 50 off 34 balls and then survived a caught behind appeal in the 15th over.

The Scorchers acting captain swiftly moved on to 81 before he was caught on the rope by Nathan Reardon from a long-off drive in the penultimate over.

Both teams take on the Melbourne Stars in their next matches. The Scorchers return home for Saturday night’s clash at the Furnace, before the Stars and Heat duel at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Tuesday evening.

2016/17 Big Bash League – Match 23:

Perth Scorchers 5-156 (20 overs)
Klinger 81, Bell 14, Cartwright 13*, Swepson 2-22, Steketee 2-32

Brisbane Heat 129 (19.2 overs)
Ross 39, Burns 23, Cutting 16, Tye 4-22, Johnson 2-25

Match Result: Perth Scorchers won by 27 runs
Player of the Match: Michael Klinger (Scorchers)

Toss: Brisbane Heat, batted first
Umpires: S Fry, M Graham-Smith
Match Referee: D Talalla
Venue: Gabba Ground, Brisbane
Crowd: 34,677 (BBL T20 venue record).

Brisbane Heat: Jimmy Peirson (wk), Brendon McCullum (c), Sam Heazlett, Alex Ross, Joe Burns, Nathan Reardon, Ben Cutting, Jack Wildermuth, Tymal Mills, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson.

Perth Scorchers: Michael Klinger (c), Shaun Marsh, Ian Bell, Hilton Cartwright, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Sam Whiteman (wk), Tim Bresnan, Jhye Richardson, Mitch Johnson, Andrew Tye, Cameron Bancroft (12th man/wk).