Australia’s path to seventh World Cup crown unveiled

Wednesday March 8, 2017

The ICC has today announced the schedule for the 2017 Women’s World Cup in England with the Southern Stars to begin their World Cup campaign against the West Indies on Monday 26 June at Taunton.

England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies will join Australia in the tournament beginning on June 24, with 31 matches to be staged across five venues – Lord’s, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Somerset and Gloucestershire.

Having claimed their sixth 50-over World Cup title in 2013 with a 114-run win against the West Indies in Mumbai, Australia will be out to make a statement with a strong performance against the reigning Twenty20 World Champions, followed by matches against Sri Lanka and New Zealand at Bristol.

Their run to the final at Lord’s on 23 July will continue with matches against Pakistan, England, India and South Africa, with the top four teams to compete in the semi-finals on 18 and 20 July.

Australia will be looking to win an unprecedented seventh World Cup title, adding to their 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005 and 2013 victories, whilst this year’s tournament will be Meg Lanning’s first as captain and the only major piece of silverware yet to be claimed by Australia whilst under her lead.

Speaking following the schedule announcement, National Selector Shawn Flegler said: “The World Cup is one of the pinnacle events on the cricketing calendar and it’s shaping as one of the most tightly contested tournaments in recent times.

“We know it’s going to take something special to will a seventh title, but as we saw in the recent Rose Bowl series, there is plenty of talent, fight and resilience in within our current group of players and there’s no doubt they’re up for the challenge.

“We’ve got a great mix of youth and experience in Australian cricket at the moment so picking a squad to defend that title is not going to be easy, but to have calibre of players to choose from that we currently do is really exciting.”

Australia’s ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Match Schedule

Monday 26 June – Australia v West Indies at Taunton
Thursday 29 June – Sri Lanka v Australia at Bristol
Sunday 2 July – Australia v New Zealand at Bristol
Wednesday 5 July – Pakistan v Australia at Leicester
Sunday 9 July – England v Australia at Bristol
Wednesday 12 July – Australia v India at Bristol
Saturday 15 July – South Africa v Australia at Taunton
Tuesday 18 July – Semi Final 1 at Bristol
Thursday 20 July – Semi Final 2 at Derby
Sunday July 23 – Final at Lord’s

News Source: Cricket Australia