Sky Blues through to Grand Final after convincing win

Saturday April 29, 2017

Sydney FC booked their place in next week’s A-League Grand Final after defeating Perth Glory 3-0 on Saturday night.

The Premiers took the lead courtesy of Joshua Brillante’s superb long-range effort 20 minutes into the match.

In what was a remarkable end to the first half, the Video Assistant Referee was required to reverse two incorrect offside decisions after replays showed both Jordy Buijs and Filip Holosko had put the ball beyond Liam Reddy from onside positions.

The Sky Blues held on for what was a comfortable and clinical victory in front of a raucous home crowd at Allianz Stadium.

Graham Arnold’s men will face either Melbourne Victory or Brisbane Roar in next Sunday’s decider.

After the game, Arnold said, “We’ve got a good turnaround of eight days before round 29 and we’ll work hard during the week, recover well and be ready.

“It was an outstanding performance especially on that pitch. I thought we could have had at least another four goals. It was just a totally dominant performance.

“The aim at half time was to go for a fourth and a fifth but Perth are always a dangerous side. They had their moments and it’s about controlling those moments.

“We have some fantastic players technically and our pressing tonight was outstanding. We didn’t let them play at all.

“There was a good crowd tonight and there will be a full house next week of 40,000 Sky Blue supporters against whoever we have to play.”

2017 A-League First Semi Final – Match Details:

Sydney FC – 3 (Brillante 21’, Buijs 37’, Holosko 45+1’)
Perth Glory – 0
Crowd: 21,938 at Allianz Stadium
Referee: Peter Green

Sydney FC: 20. Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 4. Alex WILKINSON, 5. Jordy BUIJS, 6. Joshua BRILLANTE, 7. Michael ZULLO, 9. BOBÔ, 10. Milos NINKOVIC (17. David CARNEY 81’), 13. Brandon O’NEILL, 14. Alex BROSQUE (c) (18. Matt SIMON 86’), 21. Filip HOLOSKO (11. Bernie IBINI 66’), 23. Rhyan GRANT. Subs not used: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 8. Milos DIMITRIJEVIC. Yellow Cards: Ibini 89’. Red Cards: None.

Perth Glory: 33. Liam REDDY (gk), 3. Marc WARREN, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Joel CHIANESE (14. Chris HAROLD 73’), 8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS (c), 9. Andrew KEOGH, 11. Richard GARCIA (15. Brandon WILSON 52’), 17. Diego CASTRO, 19. Joshua RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART, 26. Lucian GOIAN. Subs not used: 13. Nicholas FEELY (gk), 5. Rhys WILLIAMS, 10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC. Yellow Cards: Goian 24’, Risdon 45’, Warren 80’, Keogh 83’. Red Cards: None.