Wallabies drawn with Wales and Georgia

Wednesday May 10, 2017

The Australian Wallabies have been drawn alongside Wales and Georgia in Pool D at the 2019 Rugby World Cup following the official draw held this evening at the Kyoto State House in Japan.

The William Webb Ellis Cup is displayed during the Rugby World Cup 2019 Pool Draw.
Photo courtesy of World Rugby via Getty Images

Similar to the 2015 draw, the Wallabies were again the third seed and entered into the first of five pool bands at today’s team draw.

The Australians were runners-up to New Zealand at the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England, and despite their inconsistent 2016 Test form were able to hold onto third place on the official World Rugby rankings following the end-of-year Northern Test season last December.

Japan will host Rugby’s premier event for the first time from September 20 to November 2 with the Final scheduled for Yokohama’s International Stadium.

The Wallabies will meet Wales for the fourth time in the RWC group stage after being paired at the 1991, 2007 and 2015 tournaments.

Last time they met, the Australians ended the Welsh quest for first place in Pool A after both teams had knocked out tournament hosts England in the infamous ‘pool of death’.

Georgia meanwhile will be taking on Australia at senior Test level for the first time ever unless a match between the two nations is schedule before they are due to meet at the 2019 Rugby World Cup tournament.

Joining Australia, Wales and Georgia in Group D are qualifiers from Oceania 1 and America 2.

Tournament hosts Japan were drawn first as part of Pool A and later joined by Six Nations rivals Ireland and Scotland, the European qualifier and Play-off winner.

Three-time reigning champions New Zealand meanwhile have been drawn alongside South Africa, Italy, the African qualifier and Repechage winner in Group B as they look to retain the Webb Ellis trophy.

The All Blacks are on a 14-match unbeaten streak having swept the two previous events in 2011 and 2015. They are no strangers to taking on South Africa, ending the Springboks 2003 (Quarter Final) and 2015 (Semi Final) Cup campaigns.

South Africa though has beaten New Zealand twice so far as well there at Rugby World Cup, claiming the Webb Ellis trophy on home soil in 1995 and the bronze medal four years later at Cardiff.

2003 RWC Champions England was drawn with France, Argentina, America 1 and Oceania 2 qualifiers in Pool C.

With up to 12 different venues to consider, the next task for RWC 2019 organisers is to sort the 40 pool matches into suitable stadiums. The full match schedule due for release in the second half of 2017.

The top 12 teams from the 2015 tournament pool stage all pre-qualified, while eight other places will be determined through a qualifying process which is set to conclude by late 2018.

RWC 2019 Pool allocations:

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, Play-off Winner

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, Repechage Winner

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2