:: news :: opinion :: independent & australian
Sunday March 1, 2015

Australia claim McAnallen Cup

Christopher Lane
Saturday October 30, 2010

2010 International Rules Series - Second Test

Australia have backed up their performance in Limerick winning the second test 55-52 to take home the Cormac McAnallen Cup, the first time since 2006.

Despite a fast finishing Irish side, who scored an unanswered 14 points in the last quarter the Aussies remained composed and held them off to take both the game and series.

Both teams made two changes to the lineups they used in Limerick. Australia brought in Travis Varcoe and David Wojcinski, while Ireland included both Benny Coulter and Michael Shields.

The inspirational Bernard Brogan, who scored the beautiful running goal in Limerick to spark the Irish, was able to put the first over on the board for the home team but the Aussies were able to hit back and lead into the first change by seven.

Two minutes into the second quarter, official Brett Rosebury halted the game and demanded a head count. It was deemed that the Irish had 16 men on field, Australia were awarded a free kick and were able to go on and win the quarter and take a 11-point lead into the big break.

After the main break, Australia looked to be pulling a way but a fantastic strike from Sean Cavanagh brought the Irish back into contention with the only goal of the game.

Into the final change the Aussies looked to already have one hand on the cup leading the series by 17.

However, an inspired Irish team stormed home and hit the lead in the eight minute mark of the last term. Australia’s Dane Swan and Brad Green though were able to score two crucial overs to regain the lead.

Despite a late scare in the dying seconds when Dustin Fletcher fumbled the ball in front of goal the Aussies were able to hold on for a three point win.

Collingwood’s Dane Swan was awarded the Jim Stynes medal who averaged 28 disposals across the two game series. While the ex-AFL recruit Colm Begley notched up the best player for Ireland.

The AFL and GAA (Gaelic Athletic Association) have scheduled the 2011 series in Australia with matches to be held on October 21 and 28.


•  Have a view on this story? Send us your feedback!


Copyright © 2000-2015 SportsAustralia.   All rights reserved.