Author Archive

England and Japan selected as RWC hosts

Wednesday July 29, 2009 by  

The International Rugby Board Council has awarded Rugby World Cup 2015 to England and Rugby World Cup 2019 to Japan.

The decision, which was approved by a vote of 16 to 10, ratifies Rugby World Cup Limited’s recommendation announced last month.

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset made the announcement at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin and congratulated all four bidding Unions.

“All the tenders were of a very high standard and each Union demonstrated that they could host an excellent Rugby World Cup. It is a tribute to the health of the Game and the enormous prestige of RWC that the competing bids were so strong,” said Lapasset. Read more

SA Rugby submits for sixth Super 15 team

Friday July 24, 2009 by  

South African Rugby has submitted to SANZAR the Southern Kings’ “Expression of Interest” (EOI) in a place in an expanded Super 15.

A combined Eastern Province, Border and South Western Districts franchise was the only organisation to respond to SA Rugby’s call for the submission of “Expression of Interest” (EOI) documents.

SA Rugby has accepted the Kings’ submission and has formally asked SANZAR to consider the franchise for inclusion in the full-blown tender process. Read more

NSWRU backs expansion to Super 15

Thursday July 23, 2009 by  

Following the submission of expressions of interest which closed yesterday, the New South Wales Rugby Union is excited by the expansion of the Super Rugby competition in 2011, saying it will be a win for the entire Rugby community.

NSWRU chief executive officer Jim L’Estrange said the increase in matches would provide Rugby fans with more opportunities to support the Waratahs with the increase in fixtures.

“At the moment we only get six or seven home games per year, but from 2011 we’ll have 16 matches and eight of those will be at home,” said Mr L’Estrange.

“The financial benefits of having more product to sell will come through almost immediately, particularly given we get to host each of the sides in the Australian conference every year.” Read more

Bledisloe Cup Test confirmed for Tokyo

Tuesday June 30, 2009 by  

Asia will again be the venue for a fourth Bledisloe Cup Test this year with Japan to host a showdown between the Wallabies and the All Blacks on October 31.

The Japan Rugby Football Union confirmed today at a media conference it will stage the match at the National Stadium in Tokyo – centrepiece of the 1964 Olympic Games and with a capacity of more than 57,000.

Confirmation follows several months of negotiation between the Japan Rugby Football Union, their commercial agents Dentsu, and the Australian and New Zealand Rugby Unions.

ARU Deputy Chief Executive Matt Carroll, in Tokyo for the announcement, said taking another Bledisloe Cup Test to the bigger commercial markets in Asia and developing not only the game’s profile but the brand of the Wallabies and the All Blacks, was an exciting initiative for all involved. Read more

Wallabies open 2011 RWC in Christchurch

Thursday March 12, 2009 by  

The Wallabies will kick off their campaign at the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand with a match against Italy in Christchurch – the South Island city where the family of Australian coach Robbie Deans was among the first settlers and where he guided the Crusaders to five Super Rugby titles.

The match schedule for the seventh staging of the third largest sporting event in the world was announced today in Auckland, with the tournament’s opening game to feature host nation New Zealand against Tonga at Eden Park on Friday, September 9.

Australia had already been drawn in Pool C alongside Ireland, Italy and yet to be determined qualifiers in Europe 2 and Americas 2.

The dates and venues for showdowns with those opponents have now been confirmed, with the Australians playing twice in Christchurch either side of matches in Auckland and Wellington. Read more

Twenty teams to compete for RWC in 2011

Saturday December 1, 2007 by  

The International Rugby Board (IRB) has announced today that the Rugby World Cup 2011 tournament in New Zealand will comprise 20 teams.

This mirrors the number of teams that played in the last three tournaments. The decision was taken at a Special Meeting of Council following a recommendation to the Council from the Rugby World Cup Limited Board.

Dr Syd Millar, IRB and RWC Limited Chairman said, “Prior to RWC 2007 the IRB stated that it would review the number of participating teams for future Rugby World Cups.”

“The reason for this review was to ensure that the tournament remains competitive and commercially attractive, that player welfare concerns are addressed and it continues to be the major promotional and financial vehicle for the continued expansion of the Game.” Read more