Domestic News

Chris Lynn signs new deal

Monday March 23, 2015 by  

The Brisbane Heat has made its first signing ahead of the fifth season of the KFC T20 Big Bash League, securing the services of big-hitting batsman Chris Lynn.

Lynn has re-signed with the club on a three-year deal, joining Queensland teammates Ben Cutting, Joe Burns and Nathan Reardon on the Heat’s roster for BBL|05 and beyond.

The retention of the 24-year-old is seen as a major coup for the club, with Lynn identified as a key player and future leader, says Queensland Cricket General Manager of High Performance Brett Jones. Read more

Eight teams to compete in inaugural Women’s Big Bash League

Thursday February 19, 2015 by  

Cricket Australia (CA) today confirmed that eight teams will compete in the inaugural Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), which will be launched in the 2015-16 season.

The teams will be aligned with the existing eight teams competing in the KFC T20 Big Bash League (BBL), with the decision endorsed by the CA Board on Friday.

Speaking about the competition CA CEO James Sutherland said: “We see T20 as the premium format of the women’s game and the WBBL is an exciting concept that will increase the promotion and exposure of women’s cricket. Read more

Poulton hangs up her Baggy Blue cap

Wednesday February 18, 2015 by  

NSW Breakers batter Leah Poulton has brought the curtain down on a glorious career for NSW by announcing her retirement from all 50 over representative cricket, while also taking up a full-time role managing Cricket NSW’s highly successful female pathway programs.

Poulton has not closed the door on T20 cricket, however the introduction of the Women’s Big Bash League next season means that NSW will not be a part of a National Women’s T20 competition with a move away from the current State team WT20 format.

The 30-year-old, originally from Newcastle, ended her time in State colours on a high in late January by playing a key role in helping the Breakers win a 10th consecutive Women’s National Cricket League 50 over title and the WT20 competition. Read more

Scorchers secure back to back titles

Wednesday January 28, 2015 by  

Perth Scorchers have claimed back-to-back KFC T20 Big Bash League titles after defeating the Sydney Sixers by four wickets in a cliffhanger at Manuka Oval on Wednesday night.

The Scorchers clinched victory in dramatic circumstances with Yasir Arafat hitting a single off the final ball to secure the BBL|04 crown.

Arafat was almost run out attempting the decisive single, after Brett Lee had taken two wickets in two balls, when the Scorchers needed just one run to win off the final three deliveries. Read more

Breakers complete “the double”

Wednesday January 28, 2015 by  

The NSW Breakers defeated Victoria by 51 runs in the Final of Women’s T20 competition at Manuka Oval in Canberra today, adding this trophy to the Women’s National Cricket League 50 over crown they claimed last Sunday.

It is the second time that the Breakers have completed “the double”. They last won both competitions in 2012/13 when they became the first team to achieve this feat.

NSW’s win in today’s Final was built on a spectacular batting effort, followed up by a near perfect performance in the field. Read more

Breakers win 10th straight WNCL title

Sunday January 25, 2015 by  

The NSW Breakers have confirmed their status as one of Australia’s most successful domestic sporting teams, defeating South Australia by 144 runs to win their 10th consecutive Women’s National Cricket League 50 over title.

Today’s victory at Blacktown International Sportspark continues NSW’s dominance of this competition since its inception in 1996.

They have now played in every single final series and won 17 out of a possible 19 titles. Read more

Breakers into 19th straight WNCL Final

Friday January 23, 2015 by  

The NSW Breakers are into their 19th consecutive Women’s National Cricket League 50 over Final after defeating Victoria by seven wickets with 21 balls to spare in today’s Semi Final at Blacktown International Sportspark.

The Breakers will now play South Australia in the WNCL Final on Sunday at Blacktown, with the NSW side aiming to win a 10th consecutive crown, and their 17th overall.

NSW came into today’s Semi Final as the underdog having finished the regular season in fourth place, while Victoria took out the Minor Premiership. Read more

Poulton smashes Breakers into WT20 Final

Monday January 12, 2015 by  

Some brilliant hitting by Leah Poulton has carried the NSW Breakers to a thrilling victory over South Australia on the Duckworth-Lewis Method with the two competition points also earning them a place in the Women’s T20 Final on January 28 in Canberra.

The Breakers went into today’s match at the Adelaide Oval in third place on the ladder but just one win behind joint leaders Victoria and Queensland.

Today’s victory meant all three teams finished the preliminary rounds on 18 points and with the same number of wins, however NSW’s superior net run rate saw them grab top spot on the ladder ahead of Victoria with defending champions Queensland missing out. Read more

Victorious Fury end season on high

Sunday January 4, 2015 by  

The Western Fury have today ended their season on a high, notching a resounding nine-wicket WT20 win over ACT Meteors at Canberra’s Manuka Oval.

The Fury entered the day having lost the opening two matches of the round to the Meteors and appeared to take those defeats personally, striking hard and fast to dismiss ACT all-out for just 76 with seven balls remaining after being sent into the field.

A Western Australian batting line-up that has at times struggled to gain momentum throughout the season looked like a different side as it powered through the chase to record the win with 10 overs to spare. Read more

Tasmania score upset win over NSW Breakers

Saturday December 20, 2014 by  

A century from NSW vice-captain Rachael Haynes could not prevent Tasmania from recording their first ever win over the NSW Breakers in any format, with the Roar scoring a 23 run victory in the Women’s National Cricket League 50 over match at Manly Oval today.

Winning the toss, Breakers captain Alex Blackwell elected to field first with Tasmania bowled out for 255 on the last ball of their innings.

Heather Knight has been the rock in Tasmania’s batting order all summer and today’s match was no exception. Read more