Lehmann replaces Arthur as Australia head coach

Monday June 24, 2013 by  

Cricket Australia (CA) advises that Darren Lehmann has replaced Mickey Arthur as Australia head coach.

Arthur was appointed in November 2011 and since that time Australia has won 10 of 19 Tests, 18 of 39 ODIs and 7 of 16 T20s.

CA CEO James Sutherland said:

“This has been a difficult decision to make but one that we feel is necessary. We are looking to establish a high performing Australian cricket team that is consistent over a period of time. To achieve that, we need all the parts moving in the right direction. Recent on-field results have been too inconsistent. Read more

New Cricket broadcast deal a win for fans

Tuesday June 4, 2013 by  

Australian cricket’s new $590 million domestic broadcast arrangements with Channels Nine and Ten will help fund improved cricket experiences for fans, kids and community clubs and strengthen cricket’s position as Australia’s favourite sport.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said all international games will now be telecast live and in full nationally, all BBL games will be on free-to-air TV and innovative new digital offerings will offer cricket fans unparalleled access to the game.

Channel Nine will continue to provide Australian fans with innovative, world-class cricket coverage for another five years, and has also agreed to a $60 million joint venture with Cricket Australia to develop new cricket digital products for fans, including streaming matches live to PCs. Read more

Fury pair named In Shooting Stars Contract List

Tuesday May 21, 2013 by  

Western Fury pair Nicole Bolton and Gemma Triscari have been named in Cricket Australia’s newly restructured AIS-Shooting Stars contract list for the 2013-14 season.

On a landmark day for women’s cricket in Australia, CA announced its Women’s Ashes squad for August’s tour of England as well as a ground-breaking contract restructure which could make the AIS-Southern Stars some of the best paid female athletes in the country.

Unfortunately, Bolton and Triscari missed out on selection for the Ashes Series as well as the top tier AIS-Southern Stars 15-player contract list. Read more

Australia’s Champions Trophy squad announced

Wednesday May 1, 2013 by  

The National Selection Panel (NSP) today announced a 15-player squad for the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy in England, where Australia will be aiming to defend their title.

Commentating on the squad, CA National Selector John Inverarity said:

“The NSP has selected a well-balanced squad of 15 players under the leadership of Michael Clarke which it believes can continue Australia’s outstanding record at the ICC Champions Trophy.” Read more

Australian Ashes squad for England announced

Wednesday April 24, 2013 by  

The National Selection Panel (NSP) today announced the following 16-player squad for the 2013 Ashes Series during Australia’s Tour of England.

The NSP today also announced a 14-player squad for Australia A’s Tour of the British Isles.

Commenting on the Ashes squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: “There is no bigger series or rivalry in world cricket than the Ashes and the NSP has picked a squad of 16 that will give us the best possible chance of winning in English conditions.” Read more

Sthalekar retires from international cricket

Monday February 18, 2013 by  

Newly-crowned ICC Women’s World Cup champion and Southern Stars contracted player Lisa Sthalekar has today announced her retirement from international cricket.

The Australian all-rounder’s announcement follows the Southern Stars’ ICC Women’s World Cup finals win in India in the early hours of this morning, beating the West Indies by 114 runs. In her final match for Australia, Sthalekar took 2-20 and wrapped up the win with a fine catch to dismiss the last West Indian batter.

Sthalekar made her international debut in 2001 in a One Day International (ODI) match against England. She went on to play for Australia in eight Tests, 125 ODIs and 54 Women’s T20 International matches. Read more

Southern Stars win ICC Women’s World Cup

Monday February 18, 2013 by  

The Southern Stars have claimed the ICC Women’s World Cup with a 114-run win over the West Indies at the Cricket Club of India (CCI) today.

Jess Cameron was named the player of the match with her 75-run knock.

After winning the toss and electing to bat the Australian side got off to a solid start, with openers Meg Lanning (31) and Rachael Haynes (52) having no trouble finding the boundary early on. Read more

Southern Stars narrow World Cup defeat

Wednesday February 13, 2013 by  

The Southern Stars have suffered their first loss of the ICC Women’s World Cup in their third and final Super Six match, going down by eight runs to the West Indies at MIG Stadium today.

The two teams will meet again on Sunday in the ICC Women’s World Cup match at the Cricket Club of India (CCI).

The West Indies won the toss and elected bat on a ground where they had previously had great success with the bat, having posted 368 against Sri Lanka in the group stage of the tournament. Read more

Stars secure place in World Cup final

Sunday February 10, 2013 by  

The Southern Stars have booked themselves a place in the ICC Women’s World Cup following their nine-wicket win over Sri Lanka in their second Super Six match at the Cricket Club of India (CCI) today.

Australian spinner Erin Osborne’s impressive figures of 3-9 from 10 overs earned her player-of-the-match honours.

Megan Schutt (2-34) again got Australia’s bowling attack off to a solid start, snaring the key wicket of opener Yasoda Mendis (0) in the fifth over. Read more

Southern Stars beat England in nail-biting finish

Friday February 8, 2013 by  

The Southern Stars have posted a nail-biting two-run win over England in their first Super Six match of the ICC Women’s World Cup at the Cricket Club of India (CCI) today.

Australian all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar was named player-of-the-match for her 41 runs and economical bowling figures of 1-19.

After losing the toss and being sent in to bat, the Australian side was on the back foot from the start, losing the key early wickets of Rachael Haynes (2), Jess Cameron (0) and Alex Blackwell (4) within the space of two overs. Meg Lanning (17) was dismissed three overs later and captain Jodie Fields (3) followed shortly after. Read more