Charlesworth named International Coach for 2014

Friday January 16, 2015 by  

Former Kookaburras coach Ric Charlesworth was named hockey’s International Men’s Coach of the Year 2014 by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Friday night.

It is the second accolade to be bestowed on Australian hockey in 24 hours following the announcement on Thursday of Kookaburras captain Mark Knowles as International Player of the Year.

Charlesworth, who masterminded the Australian men’s team’s 2014 World Cup victory, left his position in June following the tournament. Read more

Kookaburras claim bronze

Sunday December 14, 2014 by  

The Kookaburras claimed bronze at the Champions Trophy in Bhubaneswar after defeating hosts India 2-1 with their recently new and younger squad.

Two goals from Eddie Ockenden and Matt Gohdes was enough for the Kookaburras to break ties with the host nation Sunday night, after Lalit Upadhyay scored India’s only goal of the match in the third quarter.

Speaking after the match, Kookaburras Head Coach Graham Reid said, “We played well in halves, the last quarter was a little bit frantic which was disappointing, however, we were able to come away with a win tonight. Read more

‘Burras bow out against Germany

Saturday December 13, 2014 by  

The Kookaburras will contest the bronze medal playoff at the Champions Trophy on Sunday night after going down 3-2 to the Olympic champions Germany in Bhubaneswar on Saturday.

The result ended a six year dominance of the competition by the Australian men, who have won the previous five Champions Trophy titles in a run stretching back to 2008.

Despite a valiant fight back in the second half, Australia’s young team had ultimately given themselves too much to do after falling three goals down less than a minute after half time. Read more

Kookaburras remain alive

Thursday December 11, 2014 by  

The Kookaburras remain in contention to win a sixth successive Champions Trophy title this weekend after sealing their place in Saturday’s semi finals with a 4-2 win over Argentina in a must-win quarter final.

Simon Orchard’s 50th goal for Australia gave the Kookaburras the perfect start, although they had to work for the result after falling behind shortly after half time.

Argentina captain Matias Paredes levelled the scores immediately after quarter time and Manuel Brunet put Los Leones ahead five minutes into the second half. But Australia were behind for just two minutes before Jeremy Hayward rifled a penalty corner home for 2-2. Read more

Kookaburras secure first win

Tuesday December 9, 2014 by  

The Kookaburras secured their first 3-0 win over Pakistan at the men’s 2014 Champions Trophy in Bhubaneswar Tuesday night, after winning goals from Jeremy Hayward and Jake Whetton.

The Australian men’s hockey team will now prepare for the tournaments quarter final on Thursday night. The Kookaburras will take on Pool B second placed Argentina, after slotting home three goals off the back of two penalty corners and one field goal against their final pool opponent, Pakistan.

Jeremy Hayward opened the scoring for Australia after a follow up ball on Chris Ciriello’s penalty corner drag flick in the second quarter of the match, followed by Hayward’s third quarter drag flick, pushing Australia in front with the 2-0 lead. Read more

Kookaburras high score draw with Belgium

Sunday December 7, 2014 by  

The Kookaburras and Belgium played out an eight goal thriller at the Champions Trophy in Bhubaneswar on Sunday with the Australian men denied victory with the final touch of the match at an overtime Belgian penalty corner.

A stunning three goals in five second-quarter minutes from Chris Ciriello, Eddie Ockenden and Jake Whetton saw the Kookaburras race into a 3-0 lead only to find themselves pegged back to 3-2 at half time through goals from Sebastien Dockier and Florent van Aubel.

Flynn Ogilvie’s first international goal restored the two goal deficit but the advantage lasted just one minute before John-John Dohmen made it 4-3. With one second remaining on the clock, Belgium referred an off the ball incident to the video umpire, winning the penalty corner that ultimately allowed them to score a late equaliser. Read more

‘Burras lose first match

Saturday December 6, 2014 by  

The Kookaburras 2014 Champions Trophy campaign started with a disappointing result after England walked away with a 3-1 victory over the Kookaburras Saturday night in Bhubaneswar.

England started the match off strong, scoring in six minutes of the match commencing after Alastair Brogdon’s deflection trailed under the Australian goalkeepers pads, giving England an early 1-0 lead.

The Kookaburras struggled to convert their opportunities in the first two quarters of the match, finding it difficult to bring the ball under control in their attacking circle. Read more

Knowles and Sablowski take top awards​

Thursday October 30, 2014 by  

Hockey Australia crowned its top athletes at a glamorous awards night at the Aviary in Perth on Wednesday with the announcement of its Player of the Year, Top Goal Scorer and Player of the World Cup awards.

​Kookaburras captain Mark Knowles was the evening’s big winner scooping men’s Player of the Year and sharing the Kookaburras’ Player of the World Cup award with teammate Eddie Ockenden.

​Casey Sablowski [née Eastham] picked up the Hockeyroos’ Player of the Year award after her supreme consistency and outstanding performances helped the Australian women to a year of multiple medal successes, including World Cup silver and Commonwealth Games gold. Read more

Kookaburras claim Commonwealth Gold

Monday August 4, 2014 by  

A third consecutive cup final hat-trick from Chris Ciriello helped the Australian men’s hockey team, the Kookaburras, to a fifth Commonwealth Games title, maintaining their record as the only team ever to win the gold medal at Games.

Six weeks after his hat-trick helped Australia to a 6-1 win over the Netherlands in the World Cup Final, the 28 year-old’s treble laid the foundation for a 4-0 win over India in Glasgow.

Tasmanian Eddie Ockenden followed up with Australia’s fourth goal to make certain of the result after unselfish build-up play by Kieran Govers. Read more

Kookaburras are World Champions

Monday June 16, 2014 by  

Australia’s men’s hockey team, the Kookaburras, has been crowned world champions once again after an emphatic 6-1 win over World Cup hosts and Olympic silver medallists, the Netherlands.

A hat-trick from penalty corner specialist Chris Ciriello helped the Kookaburras to a second consecutive world title as they stunned the hosts to become only the third team to successfully defend a world crown, following in the footsteps of Pakistan and Germany.

For the first time in the tournament Australia had to come from behind to earn the result but Ciriello’s hat-trick and strikes from Kieran Govers, Glenn Turner and Jamie Dwyer demonstrated a devastating response to Jeroen Hertzberger’s 14th minute opener. Read more