Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup 2011 pathway revealed

Tuesday December 2, 2008 by  

Rugby World Cup 2011 pool draw. (Photo Credit:

Rugby World Cup 2011 pool draw.

The road through the Rugby World Cup 2011 was revealed overnight with Australia drawn alongside Ireland and Italy in Group C for the prestigious tournament which will be staged in New Zealand.

Using the world rankings for the first time, following the weekend’s final round of international matches for 2008, the International Rugby Board held the pool draw overnight in the heart of London to determine who would play who.

The Wallabies, seeded third despite losing to Wales on Saturday, have also been drawn against a qualifier from Europe and America in a bid to reclaim the coveted Webb Ellis trophy from South Africa. Read more

Twenty teams to compete for RWC in 2011

Saturday December 1, 2007 by  

The International Rugby Board (IRB) has announced today that the Rugby World Cup 2011 tournament in New Zealand will comprise 20 teams.

This mirrors the number of teams that played in the last three tournaments. The decision was taken at a Special Meeting of Council following a recommendation to the Council from the Rugby World Cup Limited Board.

Dr Syd Millar, IRB and RWC Limited Chairman said, “Prior to RWC 2007 the IRB stated that it would review the number of participating teams for future Rugby World Cups.”

“The reason for this review was to ensure that the tournament remains competitive and commercially attractive, that player welfare concerns are addressed and it continues to be the major promotional and financial vehicle for the continued expansion of the Game.” Read more

South Africa grind out famous victory

Sunday October 21, 2007 by  

Rugby World Cup – France 2007 The South Africans have recaptured the title as the Champions of World Rugby, following their grinding defeat of England 15-6 at the Stade de France in Paris on Saturday evening.

On an ice-cold frost bitten night in the French capital, the Springboks who previously won the Rugby World Cup in 1995, led from start to finish and mercifully put England to the sword for the second time during the seven-week long tournament.

The steady boot of fullback Percy Montgomery, with four penalty goals, and a touch of brilliance from fly-half Butch James almost saw the South Africans sealed the game inside the opening half. However, defiant defence from the English kept them at bay. Read more