Wallabies open 2011 RWC in Christchurch

Thursday March 12, 2009 by  

The Wallabies will kick off their campaign at the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand with a match against Italy in Christchurch – the South Island city where the family of Australian coach Robbie Deans was among the first settlers and where he guided the Crusaders to five Super Rugby titles.

The match schedule for the seventh staging of the third largest sporting event in the world was announced today in Auckland, with the tournament’s opening game to feature host nation New Zealand against Tonga at Eden Park on Friday, September 9.

Australia had already been drawn in Pool C alongside Ireland, Italy and yet to be determined qualifiers in Europe 2 and Americas 2.

The dates and venues for showdowns with those opponents have now been confirmed, with the Australians playing twice in Christchurch either side of matches in Auckland and Wellington. Read more

Rugby World Cup 2011 pathway revealed

Tuesday December 2, 2008 by  

Rugby World Cup 2011 pool draw. (Photo Credit: iRB.com)

Rugby World Cup 2011 pool draw.

The road through the Rugby World Cup 2011 was revealed overnight with Australia drawn alongside Ireland and Italy in Group C for the prestigious tournament which will be staged in New Zealand.

Using the world rankings for the first time, following the weekend’s final round of international matches for 2008, the International Rugby Board held the pool draw overnight in the heart of London to determine who would play who.

The Wallabies, seeded third despite losing to Wales on Saturday, have also been drawn against a qualifier from Europe and America in a bid to reclaim the coveted Webb Ellis trophy from South Africa. Read more

Twenty teams to compete for RWC in 2011

Saturday December 1, 2007 by  

The International Rugby Board (IRB) has announced today that the Rugby World Cup 2011 tournament in New Zealand will comprise 20 teams.

This mirrors the number of teams that played in the last three tournaments. The decision was taken at a Special Meeting of Council following a recommendation to the Council from the Rugby World Cup Limited Board.

Dr Syd Millar, IRB and RWC Limited Chairman said, “Prior to RWC 2007 the IRB stated that it would review the number of participating teams for future Rugby World Cups.”

“The reason for this review was to ensure that the tournament remains competitive and commercially attractive, that player welfare concerns are addressed and it continues to be the major promotional and financial vehicle for the continued expansion of the Game.” Read more