Roosters win 2017 Auckland Nines

Sunday February 5, 2017 by  

It was the year of the Rooster at the 2017 NRL Auckland Nines, with the Sydney Roosters taking out the final against the Penrith Panthers, 10–8.

The Roosters held a 10–0 lead at half-time, with Daniel Tupou and Bernard Lewis scoring tries in both the semi-final (against the Storm) and final.

Malakai Watene-Zelezniak crossed for the Panthers in the second half, but it wasn’t enough in the end. Read more

2017 NRL Auckland Nines – day one summary

Saturday February 4, 2017 by  

Six teams remain undefeated after 99 tries were scored on the first day of the NRL Auckland Nines at Eden Park.

The Sharks and Titans opened the Nines with Kane Elgey scoring the first try of the tournament and recording a successful return to rugby league after a lengthy injury stint.

The Panthers, Sea Eagles and Eels secured two wins from two outings, while all three Queensland teams (Broncos, Cowboys and Titans) head into day two in good shape. Read more

Sea Eagles name squad for Auckland Nines

Friday January 20, 2017 by  

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles will field eight of their new players at the NRL Auckland Nines tournament at Eden Park on the weekend of February 4-5.

Sea Eagles Coach Trent Barrett has today released his 18-man squad for the annual tournament which sees Manly taking on St George-Illawarra Dragons, Parramatta Eels, and the NZ Warriors, in the Piha Pool.

The Sea Eagles are the first NRL club to name their squad for the 2017 tournament that carries NZ $2.6 million dollars plus in prize-money. Matches are played over two nine-minute halves with nine players per team on the field. Read more

Eels win 2016 NRL Auckland Nines

Sunday February 7, 2016 by  

Parramatta has secured the 2016 NRL Auckland Nines following a 22-4 victory over the Warriors in the final.

Eels captain Corey Norman was named the tournament’s most valuable player following the final, at Eden Park.

Norman joined his teammates Bevan French, who finished the tournament with eight tries, as well as Semi Radradra, in the Team of the Tournament. Read more

2016 NRL Auckland Nines – Day One Review

Saturday February 6, 2016 by  

Melbourne, Manly and Cronulla will be the only unbeaten teams heading into tomorrow’s day two of the NRL Auckland Nines.

The Storm toppled defending premiers South Sydney as well as Parramatta, while the Sea Eagles surprised crowd favourites the Warriors, who were left with a win and a loss following the first day of the tournament.

The Sharks, last year’s grand finalists, proved again they would be difficult to beat by toppling both Gold Coast and St George Illawarra. Read more

New Rule promises more thrills

Thursday December 10, 2015 by  

A new rule will be introduced for the NRL Auckland Nines, giving teams a “free play” advantage when the opposing team makes a mistake.

The rule is aimed at allowing the team which gains possession from a mistake to attempt a high risk play without fear of losing advantage.

Under the rule, the referee will call “zero tackle” when a team gains possession from a knock on, forward pass or accidental offside. Read more

Rabbitohs win 2015 Auckland Nines

Sunday February 1, 2015 by  

South Sydney have claimed the 2015 NRL Auckland Nines following an extra-time final which was finally ended by Matt King’s golden try.

The Rabbitohs, who took out the trophy just months after celebrating their NRL Premiership success, defeated a gallant Cronulla 18-14 in an epic final.

Adam Reynolds also took out Player of the Tournament honours for the Rabbitohs, who went through the Nines undefeated. Read more

Successful day one at Auckland Nines

Saturday January 31, 2015 by  

South Sydney, Wests Tigers, Sydney Roosters, Parramatta and Cronulla will be the only undefeated teams to start day two of the 2015 NRL Auckland Nines after an unpredictable first day at Eden Park.

The Rabbitohs showed they will be serious Nines title threats, following on from their NRL Premiership triumph last October, with victories over Penrith and defending Nines champions North Queensland.

The Cowboys were strong in their first-up victory over Melbourne, but faltered against the Rabbitohs on a typically colourful Nines day in Auckland. However they can be heartened that they began day two with one victory and one defeat in 2014 before claiming the inaugural Nines trophy. Read more

Cooper to lead Cowboys at Nines

Tuesday February 11, 2014 by  

The North Queensland Cowboys have named eight Rugby League World Cup representatives in their squad for the inaugural NRL Auckland Nines at Eden Park this weekend.

To be captained by Prime Minister’s XIII forward Gavin Cooper, the strong Cowboys line-up includes Kangaroos and NSW front-rower James Tamou who will join Antonio Winterstein, Kane Linnett, Ray Thompson and Joel Riethmuller in seeing their first on-field action of the 2014 season.

Fellow World Cup Cowboys Jason Taumalolo, Tariq Sims and Rory Kostjasyn will back up after playing in Saturday night’s 32-8 trial match victory against Brisbane at Dolphin Oval in Redcliffe. Read more

Bulldogs to take Gold to Auckland Nines

Wednesday January 15, 2014 by  

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs winger Sam Perrett models the club’s NRL Auckland Nines jersey.
Photo courtesy of Canterbury Bulldogs

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs are excited to release the jersey that will be worn for the inaugural Auckland Nines Tournament next month.

The all new “Royal Gold” Jersey takes elements of the traditional logo and values of the Club and combines that with a blend of royal blue, black and metallic gold to create an impressive new design.

Bulldogs winger and Kiwi International, Sam Perrett, modelled the new kit and is looking forward to the tournament.

“I’m really excited for the Auckland Nines. It’s going to be an awesome event and it’ll be great to spend some time back in New Zealand, it’ll be really special for me,” Perrett said. “The jersey looks great, all the boys are looking forward to the chance to play a different style of rugby league. Read more

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >