Sam Burgess crowned RLIF Player of the Year

Thursday October 23, 2014 by  

Clive Churchill Medal winner Sam Burgess has become the first English winner of the RLIF International Player of the Year Award at a function in Brisbane.

Burgess held off a group of nominees which included fellow English international James Graham, Dally M Medal winners Johnathan Thurston and Jarryd Hayne, as well as Man of Steel winner Daryl Clark, to win the prestigious award at the Royal International Convention Centre, Brisbane.

“Sam was wonderful for England in the World Cup last year and his performances for South Sydney through the NRL season were first-class, all the way to his Clive Churchill Medal effort in the grand final against Canterbury-Bankstown,” RLIF chairman Nigel Wood said. Read more

Internationals returns to Wembley

Friday July 1, 2011 by  

International Rugby League will return to Wembley Stadium for the first time since 1997 when the second round of fixtures in the 2011 Gillette Four Nations series take place at the national stadium this autumn.

On Saturday, November 5, the RFL will stage a double-header of International Rugby League, which will see hosts England taking on Australia, kicking off at 3:30pm and Wales, who will be making their Four Nations debut, facing current Four Nations and World Champions New Zealand in the first of the two games, kick off 1:00pm.

The last international at Wembley was between Great Britain and Australia 14 years ago and England have not played at the national stadium since the 1995 World Cup final when Australia were the victors in front of a 66,540 crowd. Read more

Carney claims League’s top honour

Wednesday November 3, 2010 by  

Australian and Sydney Roosters star Todd Carney tonight completed a stunning transformation from park football to the world’s best player in the space of 12 months after being named the RLIF International Player of the Year at Auckland’s Eden Park.

The playmaker who spent the 2009 season rebuilding his life and his career playing district football for the North Queensland town of Atherton was honoured for a memorable NRL season in which he won the Dally M Medal as player of the year and helped lift the Sydney Roosters from the wooden-spoon to the NRL Grand Final.

Carney, who was also named International Five-Eighth of the Year, becomes the third Australian in the three-year history of the awards to win the top honour, following Billy Slater in 2008 and Jarryd Hayne in 2009. Read more

Hayne crowned Player of the Year

Tuesday November 10, 2009 by  

Jarryd Hayne tonight collected the most prestigious individual award in Rugby League when he was named International Player of the Year for 2009.

The Parramatta Eels and Australia full-back was presented with his medal at the star-studded Rugby League International Federation Player of the Year gala dinner in Leeds by former Great Britain captain Ellery Hanley.

Hayne, 21, beat Kangaroos team-mates Greg Inglis and last year’s winner Billy Slater to become the second recipient of the award, which recognises individual excellence during the period between and including last year’s Rugby League World Cup and this season’s NRL and engage Super League Grand Finals.

Hayne was an outstanding figure in the Fiji team that reached the 2009 World Cup Final and in 2009 proved himself as the most influential player in the NRL. His form earned him a call up by New South Wales, for whom he was the most consistent performer in State of Origin. Read more